Elementary School STEM Fair Winners Honored

County Councilwoman Cathy Bevins recognizes the winners of the STEM fairs of the elementary schools in her district.

Two years ago County Councilwoman Cathy Bevins was invited to be a judge at a science fair at Hawthorne Elementary School.

The Oliver Beach Democrat thought she would just be there a short time, make a few simple judging decisions and be done. That was anything but the case as Bevins was at the school for hours and took her time examining each project.

“I looked at every project and each one was better than the one before,” Bevins said. “Their hard work really inspired me.”

That inspiration led Bevins to reach out to the elementary schools in the Sixth District and find a way to recognize the winners of the science fairs at their respective schools.

On Thursday, those students gathered at in Essex on as Bevins awarded a county citation to each student who placed first or second in their respective science fairs.

Bevins said she chose Chesapeake for the awards event because it is the county’s lone STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) magnet school.

Chesapeake High Principal Maria Lowry said she hopes many of the students at the awards ceremony will consider her school in a few years as more and more employers are looking to fill vacancies in STEM fields.

“By the time you graduate high school, there are going to be so many more STEM opportunities in Baltimore County,” Lowry told the students. “I hope you seek out STEM opportunities like science fairs and visiting places like the Maryland Science Center in hopes of expanding your minds.”

Those students recognized by Bevins included:

Fourth Grade: Mason Pilon and Lexi Marmion

Fifth Grade: Arason Anbazhagan and Dylan Gouin

Fourth Grade: Autumn Blackwell and Austin Dorn

Fifth Grade:  India Patton and Jacob Brinkman

Fourth Grade: Ignatius Nwanko and Logan Ryan

Fifth Grade: Manhoor Khan and Katie Dennis

Fourth Grade: Victory Reilley and Blake Krause

Fifth Grade: Krystyn Waskiewicz and Isabel Tharp

Fourth Grade: Dylan Sloan and Luke Hoenig

Fifth Grade: Brian Bailey and Vanessa Hutson

Fourth Grade: Kyle Comegna and Garrett Butt

Fifth Grade: Robert Dohler and Gillian Wright

Fourth Grade: Matthew Tydings and Maggie Foor

Fifth Grade: Hana Harwood and Erik Roese

Fourth Grade: Sahithi Buddula and Tyler Keller

Fifth Grade: Angela-Marie Boeren and Izabella Busch

Fourth Grade: Elayne Kuczmynda and Emily O’Haire

Fifth Grade: Blanca Ralph and Madden O’Neill

Victory Villa Elementary School

Fourth Grade: James Gollsbee and Madison Ramondi

Fifth Grade: Hien Cayas and Lucy Saenz

Doug June 01, 2012 at 11:56 AM
Go, Chase!
Jennifer Waskiewicz June 01, 2012 at 04:08 PM
I am so extremely proud of my daughter, Krystyn Waskiewicz!!! My baby girl is growing up so fast & has done VERY well in Elementary School!!!! Hard to believe she's about to enter Middle School! Thank you as well to Mrs. Swecker for being such a dedicated & caring Science teacher @ Hawthorne & caring so much about our students & their interest in Science!!! Another huge thanks goes out to the team of 5th grade teachers...what a wonderful year you have made it for our students!!!! Way to go Hawthorne!!!!!!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »